No ads found for this position

These are the elected officials in NC, what was total number of votes cast for each candidate?

No ads found for this position

KATHMANDU: DEC. 17 – So far, eight office bearers have been elected from the 14th General Convention of the Nepali Congress, including the President. The results of the president, two vice presidents, two general secretaries, and three of the eight joint general secretaries have been published.

Sherbadur Deuba was re-elected president for a second phase. In the second phase of voting, he beat Shekhar Koirala by 878 votes. After no candidate received 50% of the vote in the Monday polls, a re-election was held on Tuesday between the two candidates.

Deuba was elected in the second phase with 2,733 votes. Koirala received 1,855 votes out of a total of 4,623 votes cast. 35 votes were invalidated.

Purna Bahadur Khadka and Dhanraj Gurung elected as vice presidents

Purna Bahadur Khadka and Dhanraj Gurung have won the election. Khadka and Gurung have won with 2121 votes out of 7 candidates. Similarly, Dhanraj Gurung has won by getting 1908 votes. Bijay Kumar Gachchhadar, on the other hand, lost by a narrow margin of 1906 votes.

Similarly, Chandra Bhandari got 1580 votes, Sujata Koirala got 644 votes, Mahesh Acharya got 589 votes and Divyashwori Shah got 132 votes. Khadka is the outgoing general secretary. Gurung was a central member. Khadka won from the Deuba panel. Khadka is a close ally of Deuba who has been a minister many times. Gurung is a rising figure in politics from the Nepal Student Union.

In the voting held last Monday for the post of vice president, 4,679 votes were cast. Sher Bahadur Deuba has been already re-elected as the president while the counting of votes for the post of general secretary will take place on Thursday morning, according to the election committee. This time, Congress has elected for 134 posts.

Gagan and Bishwa Prakash elected general secretary

Gagan Thapa and Bishwa Prakash Sharma have won the general election. Thapa, who became the general secretary candidate from Shekhar Koirala’s panel, got elected with the highest number of 3023 votes.

Similarly, Bishwa Prakash Sharma, who came second with 1984 votes, was also elected General Secretary. Prakash Sharan Mahat came third with 1550 votes. Pradip Poudel came fourth with 1409 votes. Similarly, Minendra Rijal got 809 votes. Similarly, Rajaram Karki got 107 votes.

Mahat and Poudel are the candidates from the establishment panel while Rijal and Thapa are the candidates from the Koirala panel. Similarly, Sharma had become a candidate from Prakash Man Singh’s panel. Similarly, Karki is the candidate of Bimalendra Nidhi’s panel.

Joint General Secretary results of three clusters made public

Bhishma Raj Angdembe, Mahalaxmi Upadhyaya ‘Dina’ and Jeevan Pariyar have been elected joint general ministers from Adivasi-Janajati, women and dalits respectively under the 14th general convention of the Nepali Congress.

Angdembe and Upadhyaya belong to the elected Sher Bahadur Deuba panel while the defeated Pariyar belongs to the Shekhar Koirala panel. According to the final results, Angdembe has defeated Bikash Lama among the tribals. He was elected joint general minister with 2711 votes. Lama of the Koirala faction got 1912 votes.

Upadhyaya won with 2533 votes. Her nearest rival Kamala Panta got 2105 votes. Similarly, Jeevan Pariyar defeated Min Bahadur Bishwokarma of the Deuba group on the Dalit side. Pariyar got 2212 votes while Bishwokarma got 2175 votes.

A total of 4670 votes were cast for the joint general secretary. Independent candidate Ganga Sunar got 229 votes. There is an arrangement for eight people to be elected as the joint general secretary of the Nepali Congress. Among them, women, Dalit and Adivasi Janajati clusters were counted on Thursday.

The rest of the Muslims, Madhesis, backward areas, Tharu and Khas-Arya will be counted on Friday, according to the Election Committee.