No ads found for this position
Election 2079

All candidates of ruling alliance win election in Karnali State

Counting of votes of all constituencies of Karnali State under the election of the House of Representatives and State Assembly has already concluded.

No ads found for this position

KARNALI: There are 12 electoral constituencies for the member of House of Representatives in 10 districts of Karnali State. Out of 10 districts in the State, only Surkhet and Dailekh each have two constituencies.

Counting of votes of all constituencies of Karnali State under the election of the House of Representatives and State Assembly has already concluded. There was strong competition between left-democratic alliance and CPN (UML) in the State.

However, the Rastriya Prajatantra Party became successful to get victory in some districts during this election. An electoral alliance was formed between the CPN (UML) and Maoist Centre in 2074 BS election. The Nepali Congress had lost the election for HoR members from Karnali State in 2074 BS, but this time the CPN (UML) did not win a single seat from Karnali State due to alliance among NC and CPN (Maoist Centre) and other parties.

The CPN (Maoist Centre) has already won the election in Jumla, Humla, Jajarkot and Rukum (West) while the NC in Mugu, Dailekh constituency-2 and Surkhet Constituency-1 and 2.

Similarly, the CPN (Unified Socialist) got victory in Dolpa, Dailekh-1 and Salyan. Gyan Bahadur Shahi of the Rastriya Prajatantra Party won the election to the member of HoR from Jumla. He secured 22,819 votes while his closest rival Goma Gautam (Kunwar), the common candidate of alliance, obtained 11,959 votes.

The NC’s Purna Bahadur Khadka, the common candidate of alliance, has been elected to the HoR getting 42,607 votes. His closest rival Dhruba Bahadur Shahi garnered 30,988 votes. Shahi had defeated Khadka in the election held in 2074 BS.

Likewise, NC’s Hridayaram Thani, the common candidate of the alliance, emerged victorious in the election from Surkhet-2. Thani garnered 34,625 votes and defeated Amrit Bahadur Budha Chhetri of the CPN (UML).

House of Representatives (HoR) member from Jajarkot, Shakti Bahadur Basnet, collected 34,151 votes defeating his closest competitor Niraj Prasad Acharya who got 25,120 votes. Basnet is going to enter parliament for the fourth time.

Similarly, CPN (Maoist Centre)’s Janardan Sharma emerged victorious with 39,549 votes from Rukum (West). His nearest rival CPN (UML)’s Nandaram Devkota got 12,961 votes. Sharma has been elected to parliament continuously since 2064 BS.

Likewise, Prakash Jwala of CPN (Unified Socialist) has been elected HoR member from Salyan with 35,700 votes. Ruling coalition’s common candidate Ambar Bahadur Thapa was elected from Dailekh constituency-1 with 18,256 votes. Dikpal Kumar Shahi, ruling coalition’s candidate representing Nepali Congress, won from Dailekh-2 with 20,158 votes.

This time, the left-democratic alliance’s candidates won from both constituencies in Dailekh that was once the stronghold of CPN (UML).

In Kalikot, CPN (UML)’s Mahendra Bahadur Shahi won with 24,474 votes. Shahi has been emerging victorious in all election since 2070 BS. He defeated his closest contender Nagendra Shahi of CPN (UML) who bagged 16,410 votes.

Dhan Bahadur Buda, the common candidate of ruling coalition, secured a win in Dolpa with 11,292 votes. He defeated CPN (UML)’s Ganesh Bahadur Shahi who got 5,505 votes. Buda is continuously winning since 2070 BS.

In Humla, ruling coalition’s common candidate Tshring Damdul Lama was elected with 14,371 votes defeating CPN (UML)’s Dal Rawal who received 9,516 votes.

In Mugu, Nepali Congress’s Ain Bahadur Shahi won with 14,702 votes defeating CPN (UML)’s Raj Bahadur Karki who got elected with 10,708 votes. CPN (Maoist Centre)’s leader and Minister for Finance Janardan Sharma viewed that they received expected results due to the mandate of the progressive people of Karnali State.

Political analyst Pitambar Dhakal analyzed that (CPN) UML candidates conceded defeat in the Karnali State due to division within the party and left-democratic alliance.

According to the statistic unveiled by the Election Commission, out of 1,085,403 voters registered in 10 districts in Karnali State, 662,095 votes were cast i.e. the voter turnout remained at 61 per cent only.